The EST Solar Gallery contains images and observations from the following telescopes:


Dutch Open Telescope (DOT)

The Dutch Open Telescope is operated at the Spanish Observatorio del Roque de los Muchachos of the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC).


Dunn Solar Telescope (DST)

The Dunn Solar Telescope is a facility of the National Solar Observatory (NSO), which is operated by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy, Inc. (AURA), under cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation.



The 1.5 m GREGOR solar telescope was built by a German consortium under the leadership of the Leibniz-Institut für Sonnenphysik in Freiburg with the Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam, the Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen, and the Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung in Göttingen as partners, and with contributions by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias and the Astronomical Institute of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. It is operated on the island of Tenerife in the Spanish Observatorio del Teide of the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC).


Goode Solar Telescope (GST)

Big Bear Solar Observatory (BBSO) operation is supported by New Jersey Institute of Technology and U.S. NSF AGS-1821294 grant.



Hinode is a Japanese mission developed and launched by ISAS/JAXA, collaborating with NAOJ as a domestic partner, NASA and STFC (UK) as international partners. Scientific operation of the Hinode mission is conducted by the Hinode science team organized at ISAS/JAXA. This team mainly consists of scientists from institutes in the partner countries. Support for the post-launch operation is provided by JAXA and NAOJ(Japan), STFC (U.K.), NASA, ESA, and NSC (Norway).


Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS)

IRIS is a NASA Small Explorer mission developed and operated by LMSAL with mission operations executed at NASA Ames Research Center and major contributions to downlink communications funded by ESA and the Norwegian Space Centre.


Lomnicky Stit Observatory (LSO)

The Lomnicky Stit Observatory is operated by the Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences (Tatranská Lomnica, Slovakia). The SCD and CoMP-S instruments, installed at the twin solar coronagraphs of the Lomnicky Stit Observatory, were built through the Research and Development Programs of the European Union for Slovakia.


Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO)

SDO images are courtesy of NASA/SDO and the AIA, EVE, and HMI science teams.


Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO)

SOHO is a project of international cooperation between ESA and NASA.


Swedish 1m Solar Telescope (SST)

The Swedish 1-m Solar Telescope is operated on the island of La Palma by the Institute for Solar Physics of Stockholm University in the Spanish Observatorio del Roque de los Muchachos of the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias. The Institute for Solar Physics is supported by a grant for research infrastructures of national importance from the Swedish Research Council (registration number 2017-00625).



The German contribution to SUNRISE and its reflight was funded by the Max Planck Foundation, the Strategic Innovations Fund of the President of the Max Planck Society (MPG), DLR, and private donations by supporting members of the Max Planck Society, which is gratefully acknowledged. The Spanish contribution was funded by the Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad under projects ESP2013-47349-C6 and ESP2014- 56169-C6, partially using European FEDER funds. The National Center for Atmospheric Research is sponsored by the National Science Foundation. The HAO contribution was partly funded through NASA grant number NNX13AE95G.


Transition Region and Coronal Explorer (TRACE)

The Transition Region and Coronal Explorer, TRACE, is a mission of the Stanford-Lockheed Institute for Space Research, and part of the NASA Small Explorer program.


Vacuum Tower Telescope (VTT)

The German VTT is operated on the island of Tenerife by the Leibniz-Institut für Sonnenphysik in the Spanish Observatorio del Teide of the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC).