Governing Bodies


The three governing bodies of the Foundation are the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee, and the Director.


Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees is the governing body that represents the Foundation and exercises all the powers necessary to achieve the Foundation's aims. The Trustees are defined in the Deeds (where its President and Vice-President are also identified) and the rules for changing its composition and positions are described in the EST Foundation statutes. The Board of Trustees shall designate the Secretary and may also designate a Deputy-Secretary.

  • President: Manuel Collados (ES)
  • Vice-President: Peter Gömöry (SK)
  • Secretary: Alejandra Martín (ES)



Rafael Rebolo

Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

Director of the IAC. He obtained his doctorate in astrophysics from the Universidad de la Laguna. He has developed research projects in cosmology, stellar physics and exoplanets, involving the study of the cosmic microwave background, the characterization of sub-stellar objects and black holes and the search for Earth-like exoplanets.


Manuel Collados

President. Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

Full Professor at the Universidad de la Laguna and senior researcher of the IAC. He has been the P.I. for the developments of the Tenerife Infrared Polarimeter, installed at the German VTT, and of the spectrograph GRIS operating at the German telescope GREGOR. He has served as Project Co-ordinator of the EU funded projects as H2020 GREST or H2020 PRE-EST.


Casiana Muñoz

Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

Deputy Director of the IAC. She holds a degree in Physics and a PhD in Physics. She has organised and directed the Starburst Research Team on Galaxy Formation and Evolution and is an expert in the characterisation of the Atmosphere for Astronomical Observatories; She has promoted and led Site Characterisation Group of the Observatorios de Canarias.


Francisco Javier Moreno-Fuentes

Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC)

Senior Researcher at the Institute for Public Good and Policies of the CSIC. Master in Social Sciences from the Juan March Institute, MSc in Social Policy from the LSE, and PhD in Political Science. His areas of interest are the comparative analysis of public policies, with a special focus on immigration, healthcare & urban policies. Vicepresident for CSIC International Affairs.


Luis Bellot

Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía (IAA-CSIC)

Senior Research Scientist of the CSIC at the IAA. He was the head of the IAA Solar System Department from 2013 to 2018. Currently he is the head of the EST Communications Office. He is co-Investigator of the ESA/NASA Solar Orbiter mission and is also involved in the SUNRISE balloon-borne observatory and JAXA Hinode mission.


Jorrit Leenaarts

Stockholm University

Professor of solar physics at Stockholm University. He is the director of the Institute for Solar Physics, which operates the Swedish 1-m Solar Telescope on La Palma.


Sami Solanki

Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (MPS)

Solar physicist and Director at the MPS in Germany. He leads the international SUNRISE Mission and is the principal investigator of the SO/PHI instrument on the Solar Orbiter mission, as well as being Co-I of a number of further space instruments. He has received numerous awards, most recently the Hale Prize of the American Astronomical Society.


Jozef Bruls

Leibniz Institute for Solar Physics (KIS)

Theoretical solar physics expert. He currently holds the positions of Interim Scientific Director and Board member at the Leibniz Institute for Solar Physics (KIS). Additionally, he serves as the Interim Department Head for Observatories and Instrumentation, with a specialization in Radiative Transfer.


Svetlana Berdyugina

Leibniz Institute for Solar Physics (KIS) and Università de la Svizzera italiana (USI-IRSOL)

Master of Science with honors and Doctor of Philosophy from the Saint-Petersburg State University. She serves as the Director at Istituto ricerche solari Aldo e Cele Daccò (IRSOL) and the Managing Director at Leibniz Institute for Solar Physics (KIS).


Jan Jurčák

Astronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Science (ASU)

Senior scientist at the ASU. Since 2022, he is the Head of the Solar physics department of ASU and also the vice-chair of the ASU Council. He is the head of the EST-CZ project that is on the Czech roadmap of large research infrastructures and corresponds to a national node of the EST infrastructure. He focuses on analysis of spectropolarimetric observations of solar photosphere.


Peter Gömöry

Vice-President. Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences

Director of Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences since 2019. The main field of his scientific activity is the research of physical processes in the solar atmosphere. He gives lectures on Solar Physics at two Universities in Slovakia.


Robertus Erdelyi

University of Sheffield

Solar MHD waves and oscillations, solar theory, Space weather forecasting. MSc in physics, astronomy and history. Obtained PhD in applied mathematics (1995, K.U. Leuven), CSc degree in astrophysics (1996 Hungarian Academy of Sciences).


Philippe A. Bourdin

University of Graz

Philippe Bourdin currently works as a group leader in Computational Solar Physics at the Institute of Physics, University of Graz. His major topics are magneto-hydrodynamic simulations of the solar corona, and particle-kinetic simulations of magnetic reconnection, as well as in-situ observations of the electro-motive force during solar storms.


Alejandra Martín

Secretary Non Trustee. Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

RTD manager with keen knowledge on management of RIs and EU RTD funding schemes, and more than 15 years of working experience at the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias and its Observatories, as well as at the Spanish Office for Science and Technology in Brussels. She was the project manager of the H2020 EU funded projects GREST and PRE-EST.




















Executive Committee


The main function of the Executive Committee is the examination of all documentation to verify compliance with the Budget and the Explanatory Report and the adoption of the appropriate measures to correct any deviations that may occur.

The Executive Committee is made up of the President of the Board of Trustees, who chairs it, the Vice-President, and at least one other Trustee, appointed by agreement of the Board of Trustees. The Secretary of the Executive Committee is the same person as the Secretary of the Board of Trustees, and has the right to speak but not to vote. The Executive Committee is attended by the Director of the Foundation, with the right to speak but not to vote.



[Yet to be determined]

The Director of the Foundation is in charge of the affairs and good running of the Foundation. He/she is appointed by the Board of Trustees. The Director attends  the meetings of the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee and the Advisory Council,  with voice but without a vote.