EST Canarian Foundation deed signed

On July 25, representatives of 9 research institutions from 7 European countries signed the deed that formalised the establishment of the EST Canarian Foundation (EST-CF).


Representatives of the European institutions during the signing. From left to right: Manuel Nogales (CSIC), Jorrit Leenaarts (Stockholm University), Manuel Collados (IAC), José Javier Soto (Notary), Rafael Rebolo (IAC), Svetlana Berdyugina (KIS and USI-IRSOL). Credit: Inés Bonet/IAC.


The institutions responsible for the creation of the EST Foundation were the Astronomický Ústav AV ČR, V. V. I. (Czech Republic), Astronomický ústav Slovenskej Akadémie vied  (Slovakia), Agencia Estatal Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas - Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía (Spain), Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (Spain), Leibniz Institute für Sonnenphysik KIS (Germany), Max-Planck Institute for Solar System Research (Germany), Stockholms Universitet (Sweden), Università della Svizzera italiana - Istituto Ricerche Solari Aldo e Cele Daccò (Switzerland) and University of Sheffield (UK), representing the United Kingdom Universities Consortium. In the future, other institutions may join the Foundation.

The signing of the deed, which took place in Santa Cruz de Tenerife, was personally attended by the following representatives from the participating European institutions: Manuel Nogales (CSIC), Alejandra Martín (IAC), Jorrit Leenaarts (Stockholm University), Manuel Collados (IAC), Rafael Rebolo (IAC), José Javier Soto (Notary), Svetlana Berdyugina (KIS and USI-IRSOL), Anselmo Sosa (IAC), Sergio González (KIS), Peter Gömöry (AISAS), and Philippe Bourdin (Graz University).

The remaining foundation members granted power of attorney to authorize the representatives to sign on their behalf.

The EST-CF is the legal entity chosen to facilitate the transition between the recently completed preparatory phase and the construction phase of EST. This entity also provides legal personality to the project consortium and lays the groundwork for its development.

The Foundation gives the involved institutions decision-making power over all scientific and technological aspects of the project. Its objectives are, among others:

  • Ensure that the design of EST meets technical and scientific requirements through participation and organisation of scientific and engineering research activities.
  • Create a European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) that brings together the national ministries of partner countries to execute and oversee all aspects of the construction and operation of the European Solar Telescope.
  • Contribute to the EST project for the benefit of society at large by generating technological knowledge and organising R+D+i activities to improve the competitiveness of the industry.
  • Support the training of personnel in all fields of knowledge related to science and engineering linked to EST.

The establishment of the EST Foundation marks a pivotal moment in the project, enabling legal advancements toward achieving these objectives. It also paves the way for subsequent stages that will transform EST into a reality, positioning Europe at the forefront of solar physics research.


Visit to EST headquarters after signature of the the EST-CF deed on July 25, 2023. Credit: Inés Bonet/IAC.


Alongside the Foundation, its three governing bodies were established: the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee, and the Director. The latter is yet to be determined.

The members of the BoT, representing all the institutions involved, are the following:

Rafael Rebolo (Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, ES); Manuel Collados (Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, ES); Casiana Muñoz (Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, ES); Francisco Javier Moreno (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, ES); Luis Bellot (CSIC-Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía, ES); Jorrit Leenaarts (Stockholm University, SE); Sami Solanki (Max-Plank Institute for Solar System Research, DE); Joseph Bruls (Leibniz Institute for Solar Physics, DE); Svetlana Berdyugina (Università de la Svizzera italiana, CH); Jan Jurcak. (Astronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences, CZ); Peter Gömöry (Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences, SK); and Robertus Erdelyi (University of Sheffield , UK).

The Board of Trustees is the governing body tasked with representing the EST Canarian Foundation and wielding all the necessary authority to accomplish the EST-CF objectives.