EAST is an association with 23 members from 17 European countries, structured as follows: 

  • General Assembly (GA):  The GA consists of one representative per Member Organization. All decision are taken by the GA, by majority of the members present. The GA is the highest authority of the EAST organization and determines its general policy. The GA is chaired by the president of EAST. The president is elected by the GA for a two-year term.
  • Executive Office (EO):  The EO consists of a director and her or his staff. The EO is responsible for the day-to-day operation of EAST. The director is nominated and elected by the GA for a three-year term, which is renewable.



EAST President

EAST Vice President

EAST Executive Director

Mats Carlsson

University of Oslo


Oskar von der Lühe

Leibniz-Institut für Sonnenphysik


Marco Stangalini

Agenzia Spaziale Italiana 




Canarias Avanza Logo

European Solar Telescope
C/ Via Láctea s/n 38200 La Laguna, Spain

Contact: est@est-east.eu
Phone: +34 922 605 200

© Copyright EST 2020
Privacy policy

EST on Twitter EST on Twitter EST on Instagram EST on Instagram EST on LinkedIn